Mika’s Crinkle Bread

baked in springform pan, diameter 26cm or 28cm

dough:
6.5 c. flour (I use spelt flour)
1 1/4 c. water, warm (37º celsius)
1 pkg yeast (42g)
half teaspoon sugar
2 teaspoons salt
3.5 Tbsp oil 

Mix all together, put some flour on your table and roll the dough out, size of a baking pan (rectangular).

butter of herbs:
1/2 c. butter 
1 teaspoon salt
3 leafs parsley and 3 of basil chopped
1 garlic clove and 1 onion chopped

Mix all together, spread over the dough

cut the dough every five centimeters in strips, folded the strips like an accordion.

oil a springform and preheat the oven 200º celsius

put the folded dough in the springform, bake for 25 up to 30 minutes

I forgot: instead of 200º celsius I heat up only to 360º Fahrenheit

But for 2-3 persons I take only the half of all ingredients and all-purposed flour (don’t use your self-rising flour) . And usually I don’t make the butter by myself. You can also use normal butter with some chopped cheese or butter with only salt and pepper (picture). My dough is thin like my little finger (7-10mm), less isn’t good – could be too dry after baking. after cutting the dough in strips, I put little pieces of butter on the strips, then i fold the dough

when the dough is finish, I preheat the oven and this time is enough for the yeast to work … I think it’s approximately 15 minutes.

I asked about the onion thinking that sounded like a lot and she responded with: It depends on what you prefer, the recipe means common onion but I prefer the green spring onions.

edit, I would use 4 green onions (spring onions)

mika crinkle bread

This is Mika’s picture of her bread

https://ello.co/mikacuervo/post/yuajsbch1qyzvulz3vhssq

Leave a Reply

