Wacky Cake

1½ c. flour
1 c. sugar
3 Tbsp. cocoa
¼ tsp. salt
1 tsp. soda
1 Tbsp. vinegar
6 Tbsp. salad oil
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. cold water.

Sift dry ingredients in ungreased baking pan 9″ X 9″.

Punch 3 holes in dry ingredients – one large, one medium and one small.  Pour salad oil in large hole, vinegar in medium hole and vanilla in small hole.

Pour water over all ingredients and beat smooth with a fork.

Bake 25 minutes at 350ºF.  Add favorite icing.

From Mary Jo Cunningham

4 thoughts on “Wacky Cake

  1. Have you tried it? And how large is a large hole? As an avid recipe follower, I could totally screw this one up! (logically, I know you could start small and keep adding in proportionate quantities till the consistency seems right…but I bemoan the lack of specificity. Even though at the same time I want to try it. Go figure)

  2. I haven't tried it, yet. I figure that I can make a dent with the measuring spoons for the small and medium holes. The large hole at 6 tablespoons would be 0.375 cup. (I used the conversion tool here: http://www.onlineconversion.com/volume.htm) And I have a measuring scoop for 1/3 c., so 'm thinking that would work for that one.I intend to try it either today or tomorrow. I have most ingredients. I"m not sure I have enough flour.

  3. Weird. I have no control over that other than to let spambots have access. But I can set this to moderate all comments and keep them out that way.

Leave a Reply

