Kate Dowlen’s Pound Cake

3 sticks butter 
3 c. flour
1 lb 10X sugar
8 med eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract


Cream butter and sugar.  Add vanilla.  Alternate adding flour and eggs, beginning and ending with flour, blending well after each addition.  I usually do a cup of flour, 4 eggs, cup of flour, 4 eggs, last cup of flour.


Bake in a greased and floured tube pan at 350°F for 30 minutes, then lower to 300°F for 45  minutes.  This gives it a crunchy top layer that lifts off of  a slightly underdone part that I loved when I was a kid.  She did it by accident when she was hurrying one time and I liked it so she kept cooking it that way.  It should probably be cooked at a consistent 325°F.


There was always a pound cake there when I came to visit until one visit when I was 11.  I was so disappointed, that she had me help her make one.  I was delighted to learn how and impressed one of my teachers when I took her a piece of a cake I’d made after I came home.  A few years later, I commented that my grandmother hadn’t made one in a while and she said that she only ever made them for me and since I was making them myself, she figured she didn’t need to any more.


It had never occurred to me that she didn’t have them around all the time.
_______________________________________________
My other grandmother never taught me to make pound cake the way she did so I don’t have her recipe.    What I remember of Nanny’s pound cake is that she put a citrus glaze on it.  I think I recall both lemon and orange.  It always seemed like decadent lily gilding to me.  And I did think it was a wonderful treat.

Leave a Reply

