Chess pie

Cream together:  4 Tbsp. butter
2 tsp. flour
pinch of salt
1 1/4 c. sugar


Add, at one time, slowly:
2 eggs

Add: 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. milk


Bake in an unbaked 8" pie shell for 45 minutes to an hour at 375°F.

For chocolate chess add @ 1/4 c. melted unsweetened chocolate.

For lemon chess add 1/4 c. lemon juice and 2 Tbsp. zest.

I wasn't  a fan of chess pie until I had a freshly made one.  The delicacy of the filling doesn't hold up very long in a refrigerator.  The lovely crispiness on the top, reminiscent of creme brulee, gets lost as it sits.

Lemon is lovely and I once made a Key lime chess pie because I had a bag of them and thought worth the experiment. (They are hideously hard to zest. Persian limes are best for that.) My favorite, though, is vanilla, which is a flavor I only came to appreciate in middle age. In my youth I thought it was a place holder for more interesting fare. I changed my mind about 10 years ago. I don't recall any particular trigger for the change.
Leave a Reply

