Pimento Cheese

When I had a meat grinder attachment for the KitchenAid, I loved using it to make pimiento cheese.  It shredded the cheese beautifully,  But, time has passed and the meat grinder stayed with my exhusband.

Now, I get a package of pre-grated cheese, sometimes all cheddar, sometimes a Mexican mix. If it is a 2 cup package I get a small jar of diced pimentos and if it is a 4 cup package I get a large jar. Unless I decide I want more pimentos this time and put a large jar in a small batch.

I dump the pimentos in a strainer to let the oil they are packed in drain out.

I dump them in the cheese and add 1/4 to 1/3 cup of mayonnaise. I grind black pepper in it until my hand is tired and add about 1 Tbsp of Worcestershire sauce.

It should have a little too much mayo when you are through. The cheese will absorb some and it will be right in the morning.  If you have a meat grinder and are using freshly ground cheese, use less mayo.

It needs to refrigerate overnight.

My new trick is to use 2 tsp of Sriracha chili garlic sauce in place of the Worcestershire sauce.

Leave a Reply

